Local Pension Board

The Local Pension Board for the East Sussex Pension Fund

As a result of changes to governance arrangements to pension schemes in the public sector, the County Council as an administering authority for the LGPS is required to have in place a local pension board. The role of the board is to assist the East Sussex Pension Fund in complying with all the legislative requirements making sure the scheme is being effectively and efficiently governed and managed.

The board members work with the Council in its role as an administering authority and with the pension fund's officers to ensure that your pension scheme is being run properly and that you as a member get the best service.

To comply with requirements imposed by regulations which are enforced by the Pensions Regulator, the members of the local pension board are required to maintain their knowledge and understanding of the LGPS and pensions in general, so receive appropriate training.

The board must have an equal number of employer representatives and scheme member representatives. In addition we have also appointed an independent expert to oversee the smooth running of the board.

Scheme member and employer representatives are appointed to the board for a term of 4 years.

The members of the board as at 01 April 2019 are as follows:

Scheme member representatives

• Lynda Walker - UNISON

• Niki Polermo - GMB

• Diana Pogson - Pensioners representative

Employer representatives

• Stephen Osborn - Deputy Director of Finance, University of Brighton

• Cllr. Toby Illingworth- East Sussex District and Borough Councils

• Cllr. Tom Druitt - Brighton & Hove City Council

Independent member:

• Ray Martin - Independent Chair

Board members can seek reappointment at the end of their term.

Browse meetings and agendas, and view contact details for the members of the Pensions Board


Helpful information